back for more blogging

I’ve been thinking a lot about people in the world that don’t know enough about autism, they seem to step back when they hear people telling them that they have a diagnose on the autism spectrum. This is really irritating me, leaves me in frustration and worries about autistic people’s future in this shortsighted (people not looking beyond they’re own little world) world.

How could we make this world accept us as we really are, and just accept us being there. and not trying to cure us like a decease?
Would a broader outspreading knowledge of autism/aspergers syndrome, do the trick?
Or simply learning people that we’ve always been here, and that the fact that trying to cure autism simply degrades the wisdom, technological knowledge in the world. Is this the way to make people with autism spectrum disorders life’s better in this world?

I would really like to see more acceptance for us individuals in the world.
This is just some daily thoughts from me, but your all welcome to comment on this.

miksedk signing of for tonight

Powered by ScribeFire.

3 thoughts on “back for more blogging”

  1. Good old Mikey, glad to hear that you’re getting on with life again. Kinda worried there for a sec.
    The blues come and go.. thats life with AS I guess.

  2. Mainly for some of the reasons you have here I rarely actually tell people I have AS, if there’s no immediate need for them to know.
    I remember a couple of years ago I was discussing some things with one of my best friends, and he brought up autism and, specifically, AS. That’s when I mentioned that I have AS, and he was actually a bit confused about why I hadn’t told him that earlier. In that case the revelation actually strenghtened our friendship.

    On the other hand, sometimes people either have the wrong impression of what AS is – or don’t even know anything about it. In those (and most) cases I generally refrain from mentioning it.

    It’s different from person to person how ‘obvious’ the autism is in their behaviour. Luckily, it’s not all too obvious with me, and that’s why I don’t always feel the need to tell people right away.

  3. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I don’t really know the answer to your question, but I think a part of it has to do with people who see themselves as “normal” taking the time to get to know people they view as “not normal”. People are often afraid of what they don’t know and demystifying various conditions such as autism is a big job but a necessary one.

Leave a Reply

